Skip to main content

JOHNSON’S® Baby Lotion

1 2 3 4 5 3.25 out of 5 stars

Breakdown

5
16
4
6
3
2
2
4
1
12

Where to Buy

Online Retailers

Product Reviews
1 2 3 4 5
40 reviews 56% recommend this product Write a Review

Average Ratings

Overall
1 2 3 4 5
3.3
1 - 8 of 40 Reviews
  • Filter By
Rating: 
1 2 3 4 5
Submission Date: 
5 months 3 weeks ago

New smell is HORRIBLE

Review Questions: 
Purchase Location: Shoppers Drug Mart®
Age of Child: N/A
Skin Type: N/A
Province: Ontario
Number of Children: 0
Review Text: 
The new smell is not good at all. Why was the scent changed??? Looking up and down for the old formula. Once I find it I will be buying bottles in stock! Please change back to the old formula...
Nickname: 
Location: 
Report: 
Rating: 
1 2 3 4 5
Submission Date: 
6 months 2 days ago

the scent has changed and so has the bottle design.

Review Questions: 
Purchase Location: Shoppers Drug Mart®
Age of Child: N/A
Skin Type: N/A
Province: British Columbia
Number of Children: 0
Review Text: 
I have been using it for 47yrs and bottle designs have changed but the new one is hard to use so I returned it and bought one from a different store still have trouble with new bottle design. I always loved the smell and the way it feels on my skin and then it changed I always get the original and I tried it in the new pump bottle and its awful my mom cant stand being around me when I use it so as you can tell I stopped using it right away. I compared the old bottle with the new one and they added coconut ( that explains the rash) allergies CAN WE GO BACK TO THE ORIGINAL PLEASE no fuss no muss I never had a problem till now. thanks
Nickname: 
nikita
Location: 
Surrey
Client Responses: 
Response from Johnson and Johnson, Johnsons Baby CA, Consumer Service 6 months 1 day ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We're so sorry to hear you had this sort of experience with our Baby Lotion. We'd like to learn more and see how we can help. Please give us a call at 1-877-223-9807, Monday-Friday from 9a-5:30p ET. Hope to hear from you soon!
Report: 
Rating: 
1 2 3 4 5
Submission Date: 
8 months 1 week ago

I don't like the bottle.

Review Questions: 
Purchase Location: Walmart®
Age of Child: N/A
Skin Type: N/A
Province: Quebec
Number of Children: 0
Review Text: 
I've been using your Baby Lotion for a long time, I'm in my 70's. I went to a pharmacy recently to buy a new bottle, and they didn't have what I've always bought. So, I didn't buy the new lotion. The bottle put me off. The old bottles have caps that can be unscrewed to access the lotion when it gets low. Why the changes and from other comments I've read it doesn't smell good. Please bring back the original Baby Lotion and in the original bottle format.
Nickname: 
Gordon99
Location: 
Brossard
Report: 
Rating: 
1 2 3 4 5
Submission Date: 
8 months 1 week ago

Bad smell, bad bottle

Review Questions: 
Age of Child: N/A
Province: Alberta
Number of Children: 0
Review Text: 
I cannot believe you would change the scent we have all loved for 45 years! I'm 58 and have been using it every day since I was a teenager! I'm very angry. Not only that, but with this new bottle design, #1, I won't be able to get the last 1/4 of the lotion out of the bottle without using some pliers and a screwdriver to get the top off. And #2, have you ever heard of recycling?? How can we recycle this bottle when we can't get the top off to rinse it and it having a pump in it that cannot be recycled???!!! What are you thinking?!!! Oh... And what is with the required choice of "province?" I'm in the U.S.!
Nickname: 
Val365
Location: 
Elmira, NY
Client Responses: 
Response from Johnson and Johnson, Johnson's Baby, Consumer Care 8 months 1 week ago
Thanks for your review! We're sorry to hear you don't like the scent of the lotion. We want to hear more about this, and the trouble you're having with the pump. Please give us a call at 1-866-565-2229, Monday-Friday between 9A-5:30P ET. We look forward to your call!
Report: 
Rating: 
1 2 3 4 5
Submission Date: 
10 months 1 week ago

New scent

Review Questions: 
Purchase Location: Other Grocery Store
Age of Child: N/A
Province: Alberta
Number of Children: 0
Review Text: 
This product has been my favourite since I was a child. The new scent isn’t the same as the CLASSIC johnsons baby lotion which is very disappointing. It is much more harsh than it once was, I urge you to to try to recreate that scent. In the meantime I will be stocking up on the old formula.
Nickname: 
Ayah
Location: 
Edmonton
Client Responses: 
Response from Johnson and Johnson, Johnsons Baby CA, Consumer Service 10 months 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We're so sorry to hear our Baby Lotion was too harsh for you, and would like to help make this right. When you have a moment, please give us a call at 1-866-565-2229 so we can learn more about your experience. We're available Monday-Friday from 9a-5:30p ET. We hope to hear from you soon!
Report: 
Rating: 
1 2 3 4 5
Submission Date: 
10 months 3 weeks ago

Diappointing changes

Review Questions: 
Age of Child: N/A
Province: British Columbia
Number of Children: 0
Review Text: 
The texture is different, the consistency, and most of all the smell is different. Where is that comforting, warm, delightful, scent we know and loved! I am so disappointed. To be honest, the scent you now have is similar to bathroom deodorizers. There is nothing special here any longer. This is more than a baby product, people of all ages can use it especially for sensitive skin. No longer in this house unfortunately.
Nickname: 
LD
Location: 
Kelowna
Report: 
Rating: 
1 2 3 4 5
Submission Date: 
11 months 2 weeks ago

This product is not the same

Review Questions: 
Purchase Location: Walmart®
Age of Child: 7 to 12 months
Skin Type: Sensitive
Province: Alberta
Number of Children: 1
Review Text: 
We have used pink Johnson’s lotion in our family for over 50 years. They suddenly changed the product on us. Sure it has no dyes now but it has no scent that lasts. Significantly disappointed. Going to stock up on the discontinued version. Shame on you Johnson’s and all you natural everything moms out there. There has been no cancer in my family and we have used the old version of this product for years. Absolute shame.
Nickname: 
Momma
Location: 
Red Deer, AB, Canada
Client Responses: 
Response from Johnson and Johnson, Johnson's Baby, Consumer Care 11 months 2 weeks ago
We listened to parents from around the world and reformulated our products inside and out to set a new standard for gentle. We removed certain ingredients for parents’ peace of mind – not because they were harmful, but because we were able to find a way to create the product without them. With thoughtful adjustments, we reduced our ingredient portfolio by 50%. The results reflect our fundamental mission: creating a world where every baby can thrive.
Report: 
Rating: 
1 2 3 4 5
Submission Date: 
2 days 12 hours ago

Horrible new scent

Review Questions: 
Purchase Location: Loblaws®
Age of Child: N/A
Skin Type: Sensitive
Province: British Columbia
Number of Children: 1
Review Text: 
I was horrified to discover that the scent has changed in this formula. When purchasing, I was well aware of the change in formula with the addition of coconut oil. But never would I have imagined that the CLASSIC baby scent would also be reformulated. There isn’t another baby lotion in the world that smells as good as the original scent. But now that’s been taken away from us. I understand that new users may not find the new scent as offensive as regular users of this product, and that’s great. But please just bring the old scent back- perhaps in a different product if necessary. You could always have two different products with two different scents if need be.
Nickname: 
Silvi
Location: 
Vancouver
Report: